History of the Irish Society of Western Manitoba

The Irish Society of Western Manitoba was founded in 1990 by Richard (Dick) McIntyre and the late William (Bill) Moore. Initially a Steering Committee was formed with Richard (President), Bill (Vice President), Olga McIntyre (Treasurer), Phil Baldaro (Secretary) with Bill Hamilton and Donal Fehilly as Directors.

The 1st St. Patrick’s Day Celebration was held in 1991 at Rob Roy’s Restaurant, Brandon. There were 34 First generation Irish were in attendance. Entertainment: Dr. Owen O’Shea - Penny whistle.

In 1993, a Constitution was drawn up so that the Society could apply for cultural grants. The first grant was used to participate in the First Brandon Regional Heritage Fair held in the Manitoba Room of the former Keystone Centre.

An Irish Villa was on display with entertainment provided by Jeff Butler (accordion) and the McConnell School of Irish Dance under the direction of Pearl McConnell, Winnipeg.

By 2000, the Society had grown substantially and could no longer operate with a small Steering Committee made up of volunteers. At the 10th Annual General Meeting the committee decided to become more formal and the following members were elected:

      Richard McIntyre - President
      Drew Mills - Vice President
      Rebie O’Donohoe - Secretary / Treasurer
      Esther Finlay - Irish Dance Coordinator
      Betty Brooking - St Patrick’s Day Decorating Chairperson

Today, the Society is governed by a board of 20 members and total membership is over 100 people from the Westman area.

Please contact us at irishsocietyofwm@gmail.com if you are interested in becoming a member or would like any information about the Society.

Click here to read a more detailed account of our history . . .]

Copyright 2016 © Irish Society of Western Manitoba